WAC Magazine

MAY | JUNE 2016

Issue link: http://www.wacmagazine.com/i/672196

Contents of this Issue


Page 4 of 67

MAY / JUNE 2016 | Washington Athletic Club Magazine | 5 WAC ® MAGAZINE May / June 2016 Volume 35, Number 5 ISSN 1091-7985 Washington Athletic Club ® 1325 Sixth Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 206.622.7900 / fax 206.464.3058 www.wac.net / magazine@wac.net 206.464.4631 / fax 206.464.1392 Subscription: $18 / Single copies: $3 Published bimonthly, plus spring and holiday issues. Periodicals postage paid at Seattle, WA Publisher: Michelle Pinson Editor in Chief/Creative Director: Barbara Schmitt Managing Editor: Darrick Meneken Associate Editor: Mae Jacobson Designers: Krista Serianni, Stephanie Ward Design Intern: Lane Caudill For advertising information: Kirk Tourtillotte Advertising & Marketing Sales Varsity Communications, Inc. p 888.367.6420, ext. 114 • f 888.273.1763 kirk@varsitycommunications.com EXECUTIVE STAFF Chuck Nelson President & Chief Executive Officer cnelson@wac.net Paul Lowber Chief Financial Officer plowber@wac.net Wayne Milner Senior Vice President Athletics, Special Projects & Community Partners wmilner@wac.net Bill Cohen Vice President Operations wcohen@wac.net Michelle Pinson Vice President Membership & Marketing mpinson@wac.net Peter Christian Vice President Food & Beverage pchristian@wac.net Melissa Borders Vice President Club Programs mborders@wac.net Wendall Smith Vice President Human Resources wsmith@wac.net WASHINGTON ATHLETIC CLUB - Dedicated 1930 - MISSION To enrich the quality of life of our members VISION To be the premier athletic club in America VALUES Leadership, Excellence, Integrity, Service and Sensitivity POSTMASTER Send address changes to: Editor, WAC Magazine, P.O. Box 1709 Seattle, WA 98111-1709 WAC and Washington Athletic Club are registered trademarks of the Washington Athletic Club. Letter from the President & CEO Chuck Nelson, President & Chief Executive Officer / cnelson@wac.net / @cnhuskies13 T here are so many wonderful people involved with the Washington Athletic Club. The membership consists of a fascinating and impressive cross-section of this dynamic, diverse community. Think of the tens of thousands of members who have taken advantage of and helped create one of the most successful private clubs in America. Not only have we been around since 1930, but we also are one of the very few Seattle institutions of any kind that has been providing the same service at the same location for 86 years. Our members have been shaping Seattle history from the beginning. With this issue of WAC Magazine, it gives us great pleasure to highlight three such members helping forge the Seattle of today and tomorrow. Later this year, we have a very impactful, major infrastructure project coming to the Clubhouse. The main elevators, serving the tower portion of the building, will undergo a full renovation. The current elevators are very safe and fundamentally functional, but the systems and parts are dated and difficult to repair or replace in a timely fashion when the occasional damage or malfunction occurs. Beginning this fall—and forecast to take 13 months—each of the three main elevators will alternately be out of service as we build a whole new elevator system. Use of the central staircase and low-rise elevators will be encouraged for trips to the lower floors. When the project is complete, the new elevators will be faster, more efficient, and a major improvement in getting our thriving membership around the Club. The improvement should be noticeable and last for decades. It's never easy to cause a disruption to the pleasant nature of the WAC, but this is part of a commitment to having a premier facility, and it's part of the responsibility of all of us—members and team members alike—to serve the membership of this great club well into the future. Thank you and congratulations on making the Club a part of your life. So many great things happen here. Friendships, communities and memories are built here, and the future of our city and region is shaped here—at the WAC. Rising to new heights

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of WAC Magazine - MAY | JUNE 2016